page tools /
Home /
<<  About Us / Campus News
Glenn Harmon Elementary School

Campus News

Congratulations to MISD's 2017 Teachers of the Year
Posted 05/09/2017 11:32AM

Mansfield ISD would like to congratulate the two recipients who received the honor of being named the district’s 2017 Teachers of the Year.

The winners are Laurie Skaggs for Elementary Teacher of the Year and Douglas Arnold for Secondary Teacher of the Year.

 Elementary and Secondary Teachers of the Year

Laurie Skaggs (left) and Douglas Arnold (right) photographed with their Teacher of the Year awards during the ceremony.

Laurie Skaggs is a sixth grade math teacher at Mary Orr Intermediate School. She began her career in Oklahoma and Kansas public schools and joined Mansfield ISD in 2015. Skaggs is committed to making her students feel loved, wanted, important and safe.

“I am just so humbled and honored to represent MISD,” Skaggs said. “We are just proud as parents to have our kids at this district and this is just icing on the cake.”

Douglas Arnold teaches U.S. history, economics and government at Summit High School. He has been in education for 23 years and began his service at MISD in 1997. Arnold is dedicated to finding the hidden strengths every student has.

“I am overwhelmed. I accept this award on behalf of all my Summit colleagues who do a wonderful job every day,” Arnold said. “The Summit love is alive and I am just very excited to represent my Summit Jaguars here.”

Skaggs and Arnold were formally recognized for their achievement at the MISD employee recognition banquet on Monday, May 8. They will go on to compete in the Education Service Center Region XI Teacher of Year competition and could potentially advance to compete for Texas Teacher of the Year.

The process to become MISD's Teacher of the Year begins by winning at the campus level. From those winners, a committee selects three finalists from the elementary schools and three from the secondary (intermediate, middle and high) schools. The district Teachers of the Year are then chosen from those finalists after a round of interviews.

Congratulations to our all of our campus teachers of the year for their hard work and excellence in teaching and leadership.

     CAMPUS              TEACHER OF THE YEAR      
Frontier High School/ BBCTA  LeighAnn Tamplin
Lake Ridge High School Stephanie Monajami
Legacy High School
Arlevia Davis
Mansfield High School
Constance June
Summit High School
Douglas W. Arnold
The Phoenix Academy
Jan Lawler
Timberview High School
Dallas Williams
 Coble Middle School  Becky Bielinksi
 Howard Middle School
 Kiesha N. Edwards
 Jobe Middle School
 Garrett Bandy
 Jones Middle School
 Janell Tanner
 Wester Middle School
 Man Phan
 Worley Middle School
 Jamie Hart
 Cross Timbers Intermediate School
 Irene Johnson-Davis
 Icenhower Intermediate School
 Nicole Young
 Lillard Intermediate School
 Kristen McAfee
 Low Intermediate School
 Dan Hippman
 Orr Intermediate School
 Laurie Skaggs
 Shepard Intermediate School
 Casey Rubio
 Anderson Elementary School
  Stacy M. Bailey
 Boren Elementary School
 Kelley Rudd
 Brockett Elementary School
 Derek Gammon
 Brown Elementary School
 Andrea Clark
 Cabaniss Elementary School
 Kristen Chapman
 Daulton Elementary School
 Kim Ellis
 Davis Elementary School
 Malitha Nguyen
 Gideon Elementary School
 Sarah Wallick
 Harmon Elementary School
 Jimmie Altman
 Holt Elementary School
 Mary Beth Price
 Jones Elementary School
 Andrea Meneses
 Miller Elementary School
 Tina Kincaid
 Morris Elementary School
 Ginger Stewart
 Nash Elementary School
 Aaron Resendez
 Neal Elementary School
 Brandy Buck
 Perry Elementary School
 Lori Hargrove
 Ponder Elementary School
 Jill Duvak
 Reid Elementary School
 Morgan Farr
 Sheppard Elementary School
 Melanie Tanner
 Spencer Elementary School
 Hope Braly
 Smith Elementary School
 Michelle Gonzalez
 Tarver-Rendon Elementary School
 Patti Smith
 Tipps Elementary School
 Jeanna Helton

MISDMansfield ISD
605 East Broad Street
Mansfield, Texas 76063
Phone: 817.299.6300

Glenn Harmon HawksGlenn Harmon Elementary
5700 Petra Drive
Arlington, Texas 76017
Phone: 817.299.7780   Fax: 817.472.3228
contact the webmaster | map to campus

email page print page small type large type
powered by finalsite